TikTok Has An Obsession With Straight White Male Comedians

Zoe Garden
7 min readJul 23, 2021

I know you read that headline right. Please hear me out straight white male comedian TikTok.

John Mulaney’s “Kid Gorgeous” Poster and a screencap from Bo Burnham’s “Inside” performing “Healing The World (With Comedy).

The Bo-John-TikTok Industrial Complex

Ever since Bo Burnham’s third Netflix special, “Inside,” dropped, TikTok has had a months-long field day with it. My “For You Page” has been flooded with many audios and trends inspired by the special.

From “Welcome to The Internet,” “Look Whose Inside Again,” and “Bezos I,” Burnham’s special has inspired countless videos to take over trending pages all over TikTok…. and social media in general. I haven’t even mentioned all of the songs I’ve seen being used, but it’s pretty much the whole album at this point.

As of writing this, Bo has been nominated for six Emmys for this special, all well deserved. I have been thinking about this topic for a while now, so let’s jump in:

Around this time last year, John Mulaney was The Straight White Male Comedian on TikTok. “New In Town” and “Kid Gorgeous” spawned countless audios and…

--

--

Zoe Garden

I’m writing in-depth reviews, essays, & interviews about pop culture, politics & social media. https://somelikeitpop.substack.com http://linktr.ee/somelikeitpop